Intellect and heartstrings

Before reading, I did not write this poem.
But it's absolutely beautiful. Written by a member of Deviantart.

After enduring constant siege
I became a master of construction
My walls were impregnable
Immune from all destruction

But you, you broke through
And opened up my eyes
Showed me I wasn't protected
But shielded by my lies

My heart was locked away
But you found the key
Only to break it into pieces
Returning all but one to me

You gave me respect
You cared and you were kind
But now you've started a war
Between my heart and mind

Perhaps I was naive to think
I'd survive a leap into the abyss
The things we humans do
In pursuit of happiness

My mind is in damage control
Resurrecting old defenses
To prevent my heart
From commiting old offenses

But deep down i know
No more I want to hide
That city, you showed me
That there is nothing inside

So the war inside me rages
The catalyst is plain
My mind wants to protect me
From the hearts pain

It appears that none are so wise
As to understand these things
To resolve this endless conflict
Of intellect and heartstrings

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0